Scholarships Established for Graduates from Sisters of Loretto Affiliated High Schools

Aug. 25, 2015

New Scholarship Honors Webster’s Founders
A 1959 photo of a Webster student speaking with Sister Francetta Barberis, president of Webster from 1958-65

ST. LOUIS – Webster University established a new scholarship to honor the Sisters of Loretto, the founders of the University, and to strengthen scholarship between Webster University and high schools established by the Sisters, it was announced this week.

Starting next year and annually thereafter, three Webster University Loretto Community Scholarships will be available to graduating seniors from a Sisters of Loretto-affiliated high school who intend to enroll at Webster University.

“This scholarship recognizes the history, mission and service heritage of the Sisters of Loretto and honors their rich tradition of making higher education available to young women,” said Elizabeth (Beth) J. Stroble, president of Webster University. “I am delighted to use this Centennial year to build new bonds among our institutions. Our histories are shared, and we wish to mark this occasion with a commitment to a shared future.”

Three students will be awarded the $5,000 scholarship. The award is renewable for a total of four years.

To be eligible for the award, the graduating seniors must have graduated from one of the following high schools: Nerinx Hall High School in Webster Groves, Missouri; Loretto Academy in El Paso, Texas; or St. Mary’s Academy in Denver, Colorado. Eligible students will have a 3.0 or higher cumulative grade point average and an ACT score of 21 or higher or a combined SAT reading and math score of 1,000 or higher.

Like Webster University, all three high schools were established by The Sisters of Loretto to provide young women with an education. The Sisters of Loretto established hundreds of grade schools and high schools across the United States during the past two centuries, but over time, many were absorbed by other Catholic schools or closed. The three schools are the last of the Loretto-founded high schools in the United States that are still affiliated with the order. The Havern School, a primary grade school in Colorado, also is affiliated with the Sisters of Loretto.

Webster University was founded in 1915 as an all-female institution. While all three high school programs enroll only females (El Paso and St. Mary’s accept males in the primary-grades), Webster University began admitting men to a limited number of programs in 1963 and became fully co-educational in 1967.

“This is one more way that we can build connections with our communities that will enhance Webster University’s second century with exceptional students who will become exceptional alumni committed to global citizenship and individual excellence,” Stroble said. “We look forward to welcoming the first Webster University Loretto Community Scholars in fall 2016.”

To learn more about this and other Webster University scholarships, visit

With its home campus in St. Louis, Missouri, USA, Webster University ( comprises an action-oriented global network of faculty, staff, students and alumni who forge powerful bonds with each other and with their communities around the globe. Founded in 1915, Webster is a private non-profit university with almost 20,000 students studying at campus locations in North America, Europe, Asia and Africa and in a robust learning environment online. The university is committed to delivering high-quality learning experiences that transform students for global citizenship and individual excellence.

tags:  academics, announcement, featured, home page, president, webster today,