Webster University 2016 Alumni Association Award Winners: Wyrsch, Cantini, Hampton, de Boer

Aug. 11, 2016


Wyrsch, Cantini, Hampton and de Boer 2016 Alumni Award recipients: Mary Ann Wyrsch, Stefano Cantini, Kacey Hampton and Maarten de Boer

The Webster University Alumni Association has announced Mary Ann Wyrsch, Stefano Cantini, Kacey Hampton and Maarten de Boer as recipients of its 2016 Alumni Awards, who will be honored at the Annual Homecoming Dinner and Dance on Saturday, Sept. 24.

Loretto Award: Mary Ann Wyrsch, BA ’65

This award is presented to an alumna or alumnus who has contributed significantly in service to humanity and social justice. The award was created and intended to continue the recognition of the community service and social justice values of the Sisters of Loretto who founded Webster College in 1915.

Mary Ann Wyrsch is a former President and Executive Director of the Bush-Clinton Katrina Fund and a former United Nations Deputy High Commissioner for Refugees. Prior to her U.N. appointment, she served for over two decades in a variety of senior executive positions in the U.S. government.  

Mary Elizabeth Newell Loyalty Award:
Stefano Cantini, BA ’92, MA ‘94

This award is presented to an alumna or alumnus who has demonstrated a high degree of loyalty, commitment and concern for Webster University over a span of many years.

Stefano Cantini is a graduate of Webster’s Vienna campus. He has served as president of the Vienna Alumni Chapter for the past decade and is an ardent supporter of the University, generously volunteering his time and sharing his expertise at numerous Webster-Vienna seminars, panel discussions and special events.

Young Alumni Award: Kacey Hampton, BA ‘11

 This award recognizes an alumna or alumnus who promotes the values and elevates the profile of Webster University through leadership in his/her profession, contributions to society through public service and ongoing support of the University. This person must be an alumna or alumnus of Webster University who received his or her undergraduate degree within the last 10 years of being nominated and is 35 years or age or younger.

In honor of his late adoptive father’s legacy of giving, Kacey established the Gregory H. Hampton Charitable Fund of the Greater St. Louis Community Foundation. Through this fund, and with the desire to pay forward the care and immeasurable impact his adoptive father had on his life, Kacey established the Annual and Endowed Gregory Hampton Leadership Scholarships at Webster.

Distinguished Alumni Award: Maarten de Boer, BA ‘00

This is the highest award given by the Alumni Association. This annual award is presented to an alumna or alumnus who has made specific, meritorious contributions to society through his or her profession and involvement in civic, cultural or charitable activities. This award recognizes high achievement that reflects credit upon the individual and Webster University.

Maarten de Boer is a Los Angeles-based in-demand celebrity portrait photographer. A partial list of his celebrity subjects includes the likes of Leonardo DiCaprio, Ewan MacGregor, Kevin Bacon, Zooey Deschanel, Bryan Cranston, Anthony Anderson, Halle Berry, Julianne Margulies, Jane Fonda, Julia Louis-Dreyfuss and Sandra Bullock.

Even with his packed schedule, de Boer remains deeply involved with Webster. He serves as a mentor to Webster photography students through the University’s Mentoring Program and is active in Alumni Association and other Webster University events in the Los Angeles area. De Boer also makes time to serve as a contributing photographer for Glimpse, Webster’s digital alumni magazine.

Homecoming 2016: Sept. 23-24

Find out more about Homecoming 2016 and register for events, including the Homecoming Dinner and Dance where these alumni will be honored, at http://alumni.webster.edu/homecoming2016.

tags:  alumni, advancement, home page, school of business and technology, school of education, college of arts and sciences, school of communications, webster life, webster today,