Five Presidential Scholars Named

Mar. 19, 2014

Five Presidential Scholars Named

ST. LOUIS - Five high school students were named the 2014 Presidential Scholarship recipients at Webster University. This is the largest academic scholarship offered to any student at Webster University.

Carina Maurer-Batjer, 18, from University of Missouri Columbia High School in Defiance; Maggie Lo, 17, from Ralston High School in Omaha, Neb.; Shelby Sample, 18, from Lindbergh High School in Saint Louis; Marie Kinder, 18, from Cape Central High School inCape Girardeau, Mo.; and Frederick Rice, 17, from Belleville Township East High School in Swansea, Ill., are the 2014-2015 Webster University Presidential Scholars.

The Presidential Scholarship is a full tuition award for outstanding undergraduate students who enroll at Webster as first-time freshmen. Awards for 2014-2015 will be valued at more than $90,000 over four years. The students also will join past Presidential Scholars and participate in Webster’s LEADS program (

More than 150 incoming students applied for the scholarship. Thirty-two finalists were selected based upon demonstrated academic excellence, involvement with school and community and capacity for future contributions as student leaders at Webster University. The average cumulative G.P.A. of the finalists was 4.18 and the average ACT score was 30. These finalists were invited to compete in the Presidential Scholarship Interview Day hosted by President Elizabeth Stroble and the Office of Admission on Webster’s campus on Saturday, Feb. 15.

Finalists participated in interviews with a panel of faculty, current student leaders, Student Affairs personnel and Admission staff and participated in an onsite essay-writing activity. Finalists and their families also attended various interactive sessions to learn more about Webster’s tradition of academic distinction and dynamic student life. The five scholars were selected in early March.