President Stroble Recognized for Leadership in Education

May. 17, 2013

President Stroble Recognized for Leadership in Education

ST. LOUIS, MAY 17, 2013 - President Elizabeth (Beth) Stroble was one of 16 women honored as a leader in the St. Louis area during the 10th annual “Salute to Women in Leadership” dinner, hosted by the St. Louis Community Empowerment Foundation May 16. Stroble was selected for her work in educational leadership.

“I am humbled to be recognized among so many community champions,” Stroble said. “I am honored to receive the recognition, but I don't do this for accolades. I don't want to speak for the other honorees, but I believe we and the organizations we represent do what we do out of an inherent passion for greater change.”

The St. Louis Community Empowerment Foundation is a non-profit community volunteer organization that uses grants and donations to assist in community development, education, housing, public safety and social services projects throughout the St. Louis area. The organization began holding luncheons for the annual awards a decade ago to highlight the achievements of female leaders in the community. This year's awards mark the first dinner celebration, and was sponsored by Anheuser-Busch and Worldwide Technology Inc.

Along with Stroble, the other 2013 honorees included:

  • Lifetime Achievement – Chaka Khan, legendary award-winning singer/songwriter, producer and entrepreneur
  • International Recognition – Her Excellency Dr. Aysha Salem Saif Mubarak, Shura Council in the Kingdom of Bahrain
  • Artistic Leadership – Shari Headley, actress
  • Business Leadership – Maxine Clark, president and CEO of Build a Bear
  • Charitable Leadership – Gloria Taylor, founder of the Community Women Against Hardship
  • Civic Leadership – Carol Voss, Fontbonne University Board of Trustees
  • Civic Leadership – Barbara Turkington, assistant director for advancement at the St. Louis Public Library
  • Community Leadership – Dawn Fuller, chief operating officer of the St. Louis Gateway Classic Sports Foundation
  • Community Leadership – Minga Furr, co-founder of the St. Louis CARES Mentoring Movement
  • Corporate Leadership – Beth Davis, regional director of Clear Channel
  • Corporate Leadership – Julia Mize, vice president of marketing solutions for Anheuser Busch
  • National Media – Amy DuBois Barnett, editor in chief at Johnson Publishing/EBONY
  • Regional Leadership – Kitty Ratcliffe, president of the St. Louis Convention & Visitors Commission
  • Religious Leadership – Rev. Terri Sue Swan, Pastor of Salem United Methodist Church
  • Unsung Heroine – Dorothy Louise Willis, The Willows at Brooking Park

“All of these leaders were selected because each has had a unique and distinguished impact on the greater St. Louis area or in some cases the national and international communities they serve, said Michael McMillan, chairman of the board of directors, St. Louis Community Empowerment Foundation. “Through their actions, they have made our world a better place for everyone.”

For more information on the St. Louis Community Empowerment Foundation or the Salute to Women in Leadership awards, visit