Men's Basketball Earns NABC Academic Award

Jul. 18, 2013

ST. LOUIS - The Webster University men's basketball team has been awarded the 2012-13 Team Academic Excellence Award by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).  This is the inaugural awarding by the NABC and the Gorloks were one of only 98 schools nationwide, all NCAA and NAIA divisions included, to receive the honor.

The Team Academic Excellence Award recognizes outstanding academic achievement by a team with a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better for the 2012-13 season.  In order to earn a NABC Team Academic Excellence Award, an institution must count the grade point averages of all men's basketball student-athletes competing during the 2012-13 season in NCAA Division I, II, III, and NAIA Division I and II levels.

Previously, team members Cody Bradfisch (SR, Jerseyville HS, IL), Sam Brown (JR, Hoyleton HS, IL), Jarrod Huskey (JR, Hillsboro HS, MO), and Derrell Lee (SR, Radford HS, MI) earned individual academic honors from the NABC, being named to its 'Honors Court' for 2012-13.

The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference was well-represented with Greenville and Westminster Colleges also earning the award.