Call for Nominations: 2016 honorary degree recipient and commencement speaker

Aug. 19, 2015

Call for Nominations: 2016 Honorary Commencement Speaker

The annual commencement at The Muny in St. Louis is the largest gathering of graduates and their families from Webster campus locations throughout the world.

We are looking forward to our 97th commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 7, 2016, at the Municipal Opera Theatre (The Muny) in Forest Park in St. Louis.

An important part of commencement is the awarding of an honorary degree recipient who will be our commencement speaker. As in the past, we are seeking suggestions for honorary degree recipients.

Nominations will only be accepted through the online form:

The honorary doctorate degree recognizes academic accomplishments of individuals, including alumni, as well as those who may not have had any previous association with the University.

Past recipients include former President George H. W. Bush, Simon Wiesenthal, Bob Costas, Patricia McKissack (MA 1975 graduate of Webster), Lt. Col. Greg Gadson (MA 2001 graduate of Webster), David Robertson (music director of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra), Hugh Grant (chair, president and CEO of Monsanto), former Sen. Christopher “Kit” Bond, congresswoman and former Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, U.S. Ambassador to Egypt Anne W. Patterson, two-time Tony award-winning Webster alum Norbert Leo Butz, Hiroshima atomic bomb survivor Koko Tonimoto Kondo, and Jenifer Lewis, St. Louis-born actress, singer, community activist, and Webster University alumna (BA Theatre Arts, ’79)

Nomination Areas

The Honorary Degree Committee is currently seeking nominations in the following three areas:

Individuals who have built cross-cultural connections

Individuals in this category will have distinguished themselves by building cross-cultural understanding, acceptance, and knowledge in one or more areas, including the arts, social sciences, humanities, communications, education, and business.

Individuals who are leaders in sustainability

Individuals in this area will have distinguished themselves through leadership in sustainability in its broadest sense–namely, using the earth’s resources in ways that are environmentally, socially, and economically responsible.

Individuals who have pioneered innovative uses of technology

Individuals in this category will have distinguished themselves through innovative uses of technology to produce positive and dramatic benefits locally, regionally or globally.

How to Nominate

To nominate the 2016 honorary degree recipient, simply fill out the online nomination form here where you can provide the name of your nominees and the reason you believe these individuals merit an honorary degree from Webster University.

Please submit your nominations by Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2015.

tags:  alumni, employee news, faculty, webster today, commencement,