[Video] Music Students Showcase Talents at Scholarship Recital

The Department of Music in Webster University’s Leigh Gerdine College of Fine Arts held its annual scholarship recital for the Department of Music on Nov. 5, recognizing all music majors receiving endowed scholarships. Twenty students performed, showcasing their accomplished vocal and instrumental talent.

These endowed scholarship funds are usually awarded to sophomores, juniors, or senior students who have demonstrated exceptional talent and contributed in significant ways to the life of the music program. “I'm always excited to see a bunch of our students on stage,” said Jeffrey Carter, chair for the Department of Music, on the night of the showcase. “Normally, our Thursday recitals are a few students, and we have students who have senior recitals, so to have a potpourri like this tonight is a fairly big deal.” 

Over the past decade, the Department of Music has gathered more than 15 endowed scholarships. Ten years ago, the department started with seven scholarships, and now that number has doubled. The top-dollar scholarship in the music department, which is given to the brightest and best students in the program, is the Peggy Fossett Endowed Scholarship Fund for Music. Fossett was an alumna at Webster University who established a substantial fund for students in the Department of Music. Sophomore Caleb McCarroll is one of the five students who received this scholarship.

“Because of this scholarship, it has helped me continue my education, it has continued my aspiration to what I want to do after school,” said McCarroll. “I'm excited to perform, and I'm excited to show what I have learned by getting this scholarship. One of the reasons why I'm back this year is because I received the scholarship, so I'm really excited to show everybody what it has helped me do.”

student Music students Claire Miller, Caleb McCarroll, Blake Mickens and Veronica Jones perform at the Scholarship Recital

Other scholarships like the Buder Foundation Scholarship, the Presidential Scholarship, and the Kevin Steincross Endowed Scholarship have given Webster music students many opportunities to further their education, helping to alleviate debt upon completing their degrees. It also helps students appreciate the opportunity to study music at Webster, said senior Claire Miller, recipient of the Kevin Steincross Endowed Scholarship.

Other students like sophomore Blake Mickens, recipient of the Presidential Scholarship awarded by Chancellor Elizabeth (Beth) J. Stroble, have begun to think beyond a bachelor's degree. “Because of the scholarship, it has helped me, since I don't have to completely pay for school here, it has opened up options to getting a master's degree,” said Mickens.

The Department of Music is always grateful for the many endowed scholarship funds that provide ongoing support for music majors. “It's really nice to know that all your efforts are paying off,” said junior Veronica Jones, recipient of the Buder Foundation scholarship. “It's nice to be appreciated by those above you.”

The Department of Music is housed primarily in the Thompson Music Building -- which is on the National Register of Historic Places, and the oldest building on the main campus -- and in the Community Music School Center, just a few steps down across the Quad. Many academic music classes are also taught in the adjacent East Academic Building.

2019-2020 Scholarship Recipients

Buder Foundation Scholarship
Abby Benson, Veronica Jones, Ben Shafer, Zachary Tesch

Peggy Fossett Endowed Scholarship Fund for Music
Michaela Cruse, Leonardo Diamant, Caleb McCarroll, Marc Pannullo, Kylie Teter

TKT Endowment Fund
Ian Buschmann, Matthew Lesch, Molly Morgan

James Moroney Nigh Endowed Scholarship in Opera
Abby Benson

Suzy Shepard Endowed Jazz Scholarship Fund
Amber Kelso, Luke Sailor

Donald O. Davis Memorial Endowed Scholarship for Jazz Studies
Kameron Huff, Ben Schafer

Carole Gasper Endowed Scholarship in Vocal Performance
Victoria Davlantes

Kevin Steincross Endowed Scholarship
Claire Miller

Sister Eloise Jarvis, Ph.D. Endowed Scholarship in Music
Kylie Teter

Monica M. Moore & David G. Fish Endowed Scholarship in Music
Christian Burns

Allen Carl Larson Endowed Scholarship for Instrumental Studies
Kylie Teter

Jean Sinor Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Michaela Cruse

Lynn & Thriess Britton Endowed Music Scholarship
Sarah Merrifield

Jennifer Johnson Cano Scholarship
Erica Ancell

Helen A. Hagen & Allison Webb Endowed Music Scholarship
Ashton Rogers

Sister Felicia Corrigan S.L. Endowed Music Scholarship
Madalyn Tomkins

Video and article submitted by Caylin Thompson BA '19, Global Marketing & Communications graduate assistant

Related News