Counseling Psychologist Falconer Receives Fulbright for Kazakhstan Work

Social Media Links
Counseling Psychologist Woody-Falconer Receives Fulbright for Kazakhstan Work
Jameca Woody Falconer, counseling psychologist and adjunct faculty member

Jameca Woody Falconer, a counseling psychologist and Webster University adjunct associate professor, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant to lecture and train with the Dariyana Foundation in Kazakhstan during the spring of 2018, the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board announced recently.

Falconer works with the Applied Educational Psychology/School Psychology program in the Webster University School of Education. She is also a co-leader of the Institute for Applied Educational Psychology and Intercultural Research.

With her Fulbright grant, she will work to address the problem of youth suicide and provide strategies of raising awareness and suicide prevention for psychologists, psychoanalysts, mental health professionals, parents and other adults in Almaty, Taraz, and Karaganda cities in Kazakhstan.

Facloner previously received a Fulbright award in 2015 for work with mental health practitioners in Barbados.

About the Fulbright Program

The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, a division of the Institute of International Education. The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support. The Program operates in over 155 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given over 318,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, scientists and other professionals the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and many other fields. Fifty-three Fulbright alumni from 12 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 78 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes. Prominent Fulbright alumni include: Muhammad Yunus, founder, Grameen Bank, and 2006 Nobel Peace Prize recipient; Juan Manuel Santos, president of Colombia; John Hope Franklin, noted American historian and Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient; Riccardo Giacconi, physicist and 2002 Nobel Laureate; Amar Gopal Bose, chairman and founder, Bose Corporation; Renée Fleming, soprano; Jonathan Franzen, writer; and Daniel Libeskind, architect.

Fulbright recipients are among more than 50,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs each year. The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, a division of the Institute of International Education. For further information about the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, please visit

Social Media Links

Related News