Falconer Receives Fulbright Scholar Grant in Public/Global Health

Falconer Receives Fulbright Scholar Grant in Public/Global Health
Jameca Falconer

Jameca Falconer, adjunct faculty member at Webster University and director for Counseling and Psychological Services at Logan University, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant in Public/Global Health to lecture and train at University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus in Barbados during the 2015 academic year, the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board announced recently.

Falconer will conduct training for faculty, students, community members and community health workers to meet the behavioral health and primary care needs of rural, underserved populations. This is crucial in many rural communities where there is a huge shortage in mental health practitioners. The Mental Health Commission of Barbados indicates that their mission is to heighten public awareness and increase sensitivity to the various issues affecting persons suffering from mental health issues. Thus, this project is appropriate and necessary in order to provide additional training and education in this area.

Falconer is one of approximately 1,100 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program in 2014-2015.

She was recently a recipient of a Shining Light Award from Missouri Families4Families along with students and fellow Webster faculty member Deborah Stiles, professor of Applied Educational Psychology and School Psychology, for their research on area schools’ reactions to the crisis in Ferguson.

The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, a division of the Institute of International Education.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support. The Program operates in over 155 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given over 318,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, scientists and other professionals the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and many other fields. Fifty-three Fulbright alumni from 12 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 78 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes. Prominent Fulbright alumni include: Muhammad Yunus, founder, Grameen Bank, and 2006 Nobel Peace Prize recipient; Juan Manuel Santos, president of Colombia; John Hope Franklin, noted American historian and Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient; Riccardo Giacconi, physicist and 2002 Nobel Laureate; Amar Gopal Bose, chairman and founder, Bose Corporation; Renée Fleming, soprano; Jonathan Franzen, writer; and Daniel Libeskind, architect.

Fulbright recipients are among more than 50,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs each year. The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, a division of the Institute of International Education.

For further information about the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, please visit our website at http://eca.state.gov/fulbright

Related News