Women's, Men's Tennis Teams Earn ITA All-Academic Team Awards for 2019-20

Men and Women's Tennis Earns ITA All-Academic Team Award

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced on July 29 that the Webster University men and women tennis programs have been given an ITA All-Academic Team for the COVID-19 shortened 2019-20 school year. Webster has now earned an ITA All-Academic Team honor for the seventh consecutive season and the ninth time overall since the 2009-10 season.

The ITA All-Academic Team Award is open to any ITA program that has a team cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or above as Webster posted a 3.68 cumulative team GPA on the year.

All of the players listed on the official team roster were factored into the cumulative GPA for the 2019-20 academic year. 

Women's Team Academic Honors

In addition to earning an NCAA Division III All-Academic Team accolade from the ITA, nine Gorlok women's tennis players were recognized as ITA Scholar-Athletes for the 2019-20 campaign.

Webster was one of 173 women's tennis teams from NCAA Division III to earn an ITA All-Academic Team honor this season and one of two schools from the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference recognized.

In order for a student-athlete to receive consideration for being an ITA Scholar-Athlete, the student-athlete must be a letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters (including freshman through senior year) and also be listed on the institution's eligibility form.

  • Erin Brezovar, freshman 
  • Elizabeth Hill, freshman 
  • Katarina Serbentas, freshman
  • Emily Casey, freshman 
  • Navone Armstrong, sophomore 
  • Emma Ferguson, sophomore 
  • Liz Gerger, junior
  • Maggie Federhofer, junior 
  • Alyssa Tourville, junior

Federhofer is a three-time ITA Scholar-Athlete as she was honored in both 2017-18 and 2018-19, while Gerger is a two-time honoree as she was honored in 2018-19.

Men's Team Honors

Webster's men's team earned their second straight ITA Team All-Academic honor and just the fifth time the Gorloks have been recognized by the ITA since the 2009-10 season.

Webster was one of 124 NCAA Division III schools to earn an All-Academic Team honor this season and was the only men's tennis program from the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference to earn an ITA All-Academic Team honor this year. Even though no other school other than Webster earned an All-Academic Team honor, Principia College had four of its men's tennis players earn ITA Scholar-Athletes in 2019-20.

  • Tanner Haugen, sophomore 
  • Harsh Jaswal, sophomore 
  • Justin Kohler, sophomore 
  • Zach Stevens, sophomore
  • Austin Nation, junior
  • Riley Muren, senior  

Haugen, Jaswal, Kohler and Nation are repeat ITA Scholar-Athlete honorees as they were also recognized by the ITA during the 2018-19 school year.

Related News