Webster Alumni Win Multiple Awards at 2021 St. Louis Filmmakers Showcase

Eleven Webster University alumni and one faculty member earned 10 of the 29 juried awards and two of the five Audience Choice awards at the annual St. Louis Filmmakers Showcase last week. One alumnus won multiple awards, including the top prize.

Four of the films created by the Webster award winners have been invited to be shown during the St. Louis International Film Festival in November.

"Our alumni continue to make impressive work and the recognition received from the jurors and audience of the St. Louis Filmmakers Showcase is testament to Webster's influence in the regional film and animation communities," said Chris Sagovac, associate professor of Animation and chair of the Media Arts Department in Webster University’s School of Communications. “Congratulations to all of the Webster voices represented in this year’s showcase and good luck to those selected for SLIFF in November.”

Tim Maupin, who earned a bachelor’s in film production in 2009, took home the top prize for his co-created short film “Monument.” He and St. Louis filmmaker Josh Johnson were jointly awarded the Essy Award for Best Showcase film as well as award for Best Drama and Best Narrative Less than 20 minutes for their work on the feature. Johnson will be joining Webster's Department of Media Arts this year as visiting professor in Film, Television, and Video Production.

Other Webster community members who were recognized at the festival are:

  • Matt Kidd, bachelor’s in management in 2008, won Best Use of Music for “A Small Balloon in a Great Country.”
  • Christopher James Jordan, bachelor’s in film production in 2013, earned Best Production Design/Art Design for “Ghostbusters: South Side.”
  • Zak White, bachelor’s in film in 2007, earned Best Screenplay for “Face Mask.”
  • Daniel Allen and Adam Huber, who both earned bachelor’s in film in 2008, earned Best Comedy for “Face Mask.”
  • Joshua Mullins, bachelor’s in film production in 2011, earned Best Direction of a Documentary film and Best Documentary Less than 20 Minutes for “Hammond’s Book.”
  • Emma Bright and Bethany Clemens, who both earned a bachelor’s in film, TV, and video production in 2020, earned Best Direction of an Experimental Film for “Woolgathering.”
  • Van McElwee, professor of Film, Television and Video Production for Webster University, won Best Editing for “ZIG ZAG Handclaps in Alternity.”
  • Eric Miranda, bachelor’s in animation in 2021, won the audience choice award for Best Experimental Short for the film “Coffee Breath.”
  • Sharee Silerio, master’s in media communications in 2012, won the audience choice award for Best Documentary Short for the film “Black Girl, Bleu.”

Several of the films will have another chance for recognition later this year. “Face Mask,” which was made by White, Allen and Huber, “By the Sea,” which was created by Webster alumni Zlatko Cosic (bachelor’s in Video Production in 2008), and McElwee’s “ZIG ZAG Handclasp in Alternity,” were all invited to be shown during the St. Louis International Film Festival in November.

For a complete list of all the winners at the St. Louis Filmmakers Showcase, or to watch the entries, visit St. Louis Filmmakers Showcase | Cinema St Louis. To learn more about the programs in the School of Communications, visit the School of Communications section of webster.edu).

Related News