Community Music School (CMS) of Webster University Congratulates Winners of the 2022-2023 Young Composers Competition

Exterior of Webster's Community Music School

WEBSTER GROVES, Mo. – The Community Music School of Webster University is pleased to announce the winners of the 2022-2023 Young Composers Competition: 
Level One (12-16 years of age): 
1st Place: Frazar Henry, age 16, from Bonita Springs, Florida, for "Constellations." Henry Frazar

2nd Place: Zachary Jarvis, age 16, from Danville, California, for "A Stroll About Interlochen." Zachary Jarvis
Level Two (17-21 years of age):  
1st Place: Jonah Cohen, age 18, from Farmington Hills, Michigan, for "Leaps and Bounds." Jonah Cohen

2nd Place: Jose Vargas, age 21, from San Francisco, California, for  "Triple Dance." Jose Vargas
These young composers were chosen from over 40 submissions from across the United States, Australia, and New Zealand. Winning works will be recorded by Chamber Project Saint Louis  during an online concert available on the Community Music School YouTube channel. In addition, winners will meet with 2022-2023 Guest Composer Nina Shekhar  for one-on-one feedback on their work. The Community Music School also plans to host online public workshops with Guest Composer Nina Shekar and local composer David Werfelmann from Webster University. More information on the public online workshops will be available later this spring. 
2022-2023 Winner Biographies 
About the Young Composers Competition 
In 2004 the Community Music School (CMS) of Webster University initiated the Young Composers Competition to recognize and encourage the creative efforts of budding composers between the ages of 12 and 21. A team of composition judges select first and second place recipients in two levels; Level I is for students 12-16 years of age and Level II is for students 17-21 years of age. The competition reward is the professional performance and recording of winning compositions by Chamber Project St. Louis.  
In addition, winning works are reviewed by a guest composer during a master class focused on individual feedback and the field of composition. Previous guest composers include Claude Baker, John Cheetham, James Mobberly, Jared Spears, Dinos Constantinides, Chen Yi, Shulamit Ran, Stephen Dankner, Zack Browning, Beth Denisch, Don Freund, Lansing McLoskey, Elizabeth Ogonek, Kyong Mee Choi, Niloufar Nourbakhsh, Angélica Negrón, David Werfelmann, and Mark Camphouse. 
The Young Composers Competition is made possible by the generous sponsorship of Arden and Harry Fisher. 
About Community Music School of Webster University (CMS) 
Founded in 1925, CMS offers outstanding music education and performance opportunities to students of all ages and abilities and serves the entire St. Louis metropolitan region.  
The Community Music School of Webster University is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and is a certified member of the National Guild of Community Schools of the Arts. 

Related News