Four Selected for 2020 Student Life Hall of Fame

Elizabeth Robb ’65, Chris McGee ’01, Benny Roberts ’09, and Gaby Deimeke ’16 Selected as the newest members of the Webster University Student Life Hall of Fame are, left to right: Elizabeth Robb ’65, Chris McGee ’01, Benny Roberts ’09, and Gaby Deimeke ’16.

Elizabeth Robb ’65, Chris McGee ’01, Benny Roberts ’09, and Gaby Deimeke ’16, have been selected as the newest members of the Webster University Student Life Hall of Fame. They will be inducted at a ceremony to be held in Sunnen Lounge Friday, Feb. 7, 2020, with a reception beforehand in the University Center Commons.

The Student Life Hall of Fame recognizes those individuals who demonstrated an outstanding commitment to improving student life at Webster University through campus, or community, involvement and/or participation in organized campus activities. It is one of the most prestigious honors awarded by Student Affairs at Webster University to former student leaders and employees who had a significant impact on student life. Recipients are primarily recognized for their contributions to student life while on campus.

A perpetual plaque and photos of the inductees will be displayed in the University Center.

Elizabeth Robb

Elizabeth Robb BA’65 was a student leader during Webster’s most transformational years. As Class President for the Class of 1965, Elizabeth played a role in the creation and groundbreaking of the Loretto Hilton Center, one of the centerpieces of student life to this day. Elizabeth was also very influential in making sure the student body at that time did not turn their backs on Webster as it transitioned to a secular university. Elizabeth’s love of Webster inspired other students to remain close to the institution as change continued to evolve Webster into the global University it is today. As her nominator said, “during these times it is not only the administrators who make sure that the transition is smooth but also the students who are there to make sure that the spirit of Webster remains, and that the community thrives.”

Elizabeth’s involvement and dedication to Webster has not waned. Elizabeth is a former Board of Trustee member and was chair of the Centennial Committee that planned the year-long celebration that brought in over a million dollars in donations and the Global Student Leadership Summit that continues to take place every other year and includes students from all of Webster’s global campuses. Elizabeth most recently was honored with an honorary doctorate form Webster in 2019 for her dedication and leadership as a student, alum, trustee and life-long friend of Webster University.

Chris McGee

Chris McGee BA’01 was, by far, one of the most involved students in Webster’s history. Chris’s involvements included the Student Government Association, University Center Board, Orientation Leader, Gorlok Guide (known then as Student Ambassadors), Missouri Govenor's Student Leadership Forum participant, Resident Assistant, Program Coordinator for the Webster Village Apartments and founding father of the Residence Hall Association. His nominator believes that “students still benefit from the systems and structures set up by RHA due to Chris’s impact in residential life.”

Since graduating, Chris has continued to stand at Webster’s side as an involved alumnus. Chris served on the Alumni Board of Directors, twice, and as Vice President and President. He is also a past member of the Board of Trustees and mentor to current students. Today, Chris is the executive director of Academic and Student Services for the Afton School District.

Benny Roberts

Benny Roberts BA’09 nominator said that “between 2004 and 2009 you couldn’t have a conversation about campus life without mentioning Benny Roberts.” Benny was involved with Campus Activities, the Association for African American Collegians, Webster Basketball, Resident Assistant, Orientation Leader, Big Brothers Big Sisters and created the Anthropology Club. Benny was also the creator of the First Friday’s Open Mic Night’s that have morphed into today’s Spitature events.

Benny moved back to Minnesota where he is highly involved in his community. Benny is the Director of I Speaker I Leader I Creative. Benny has served as an Honor Class Chair for his 5 Year Reunion at Webster.

Gaby Deimeke

Gaby Deimeke BA’16 is a former president of the Student Government Association as well as a Student Ambassador, Commuter Council President, ASL Club Founder and President, WebsterLEADS participant, Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority member, 2015 Global Student Leadership Summit attendee and she studied abroad twice during her four years at Webster. Gaby’s biggest impact on Webster was her leadership with Project Gorlok, the student run fundraising campaign that raised $13,000 from students, parents and alumni to build a Gorlok statue on campus that would be a center for school spirit. Gaby’s nominator says this about Gaby’s impact, “Gaby's motivation to fund and give this gift to the University is not something that i have seen matched by any others during their time as a student, it is tru;y a special impact.”

Since graduating, Gaby has completed an MA in Fashion Photography at the University of the Arts in London and has since moved to begin her career in New York. Gaby continues to be in contact with faculty and students at Webster as she is an eternal Gorlok supporter and helps in any way possible from wherever she is in the world at that time.


Former students, employees, and other individuals who have made significant contributions to student life at Webster University are eligible for selection to the Student Life Hall of Fame. Nominees must be graduates of Webster University, and have graduated at least two years prior, or were former Webster University employees who left the University at least two years prior to selection.

Related News